About the WSC

The Western State Conference was established in 1950 which makes it the oldest community college conference in California. The conference members are Allan Hancock College, Antelope Valley College, Bakersfield College, Barstow College, College of the Canyons, Citrus College, Cuesta College, Glendale College, Los Angeles Mission College, Los Angeles Pierce College, Los Angeles Valley College, Moorpark College, Oxnard College, Santa Barbara College, Santa Monica College, Ventura College, Victor Valley College and West Los Angeles College.

The Conference is committed to academic excellence, along with community responsibility through athletic participation. It has been our intention to offer a variety of sports maintaining equitable competitive balance within a reasonable geographic area. Our goal will focus on having four teams for each representative sport originating out of our conference membership. We also encourage other colleges to affiliate with our conference in any sports necessary to accommodate the State structure.

In sum, our philosophy strongly adheres to the formation of a conference which shall offer fair competition within a geographic matrix providing an amiable environment in which to compete for both men and women.